Julian places 3rd in SA for MTB!

SA Spur Series Finals-Julian Bunge_3rd place at SA Schools

Julian Bunge (Grade 8) has achieved an impressive national third placing during the holidays for mountain biking!

Julian’s training and dedication throughout the year culminated in this superb achievement at the National Spur Schools MTB League Finals, held on the weekend of 8-9 October at Bekker School in Magaliesberg, Gauteng.

The top 436 mountain bike riders in the country, representing 84 schools, competed in this action-packed final after a series of tough events where only top schools and individual category winners in each region could qualify.

Western Cape ColoursJulian’s started his journey to nationals with the Western Province XCO series earlier in the year, where he consistently improved with each race. By April Julian had earned a ranking of 4th in the Western Province in his age category, and he continued to bring home an impressive number of first placings in the Eden Marathon series. In the Southern Cape Spur Schools MTB Series that followed, Julian won all races in the Sub-Junior category, qualifying for the finals, and earning him Western Cape Colours.

Julian has certainly done Oakhill and the Western Cape proud, and serves as an inspiration for other budding young cyclists in the Garden Route!

Details achievements this year as follows:

  • Western Province XCO#1 – Slanghoek Worcestor – 5th
  • Western Province XCO#2 – Rhebokskloof Paarl – 4th
  • Western Province XCO#3 – Bloemendal Durbanville – 3rd
  • Western Province XCO#4- Rhebokskloof Paarl – 2nd
  • SA CUP XCO#1 –Rhebokskloof Paarl – 5th
  • Eden Marathon XCM#6 – Arendsrus George – 2nd
  • Eden Marathon XCM#5 – Redstone Calitzdorp – 1st
  • Eden Marathon XCM#4 – Ostrich Crawl –Oudtshoorn – 1st
  • Eden Marathon XCM#3 – Kingfisher – 1st
  • Eden XCO#1 – NMMU George – 1st
  • Eden XCO#2 – NMMU George – 1st
  • Western Cape XCO Champs 2017 – 3rd
  • Eden Spur Schools MTB League #1 – 1st
  • Eden Spur Schools MTB League #2 – 1st
  • Eden Spur Schools MTB League #3 – 1st
  • Eden Spur Schools MTB League #4 – 1st
  • Western Province Spur Schools MTB League FINAL – 1st (Paul Roos Stellenbosch)
  • National Spur Schools MTB League FINAL – 3rd
  • 30km Oyster Festival 2017 – 2nd
  • Momentum Health MTBX 2017 – 1st
  • Garden Route Eliminator 2017 – 1st
  • Plett – Sound the Call – Cairnbrogie 2017– 1st

Western Province Spur Series 1 b

SA Spur Series Finals-Julian Bunge_3rd